Surrey #GreenAndJustRecovery Town Hall

To RSVP and receive Zoom link, scroll to the bottom of this page and enter your info.


Join us on Thursday, June 25th for an online conversation with three of Surrey's elected officials about Canada's Green & Just Recovery.

COVID-19 is a warning of how devastating a planetary crisis can be. As we tackle it, we also face a future with waves of crises due to climate change - fires, floods, droughts, and global insecurity.  With the Canadian and provincial governments putting billions of dollars into COVID-19 economic recovery, we have a huge opportunity to make change. How our representatives in government spend that money is critical to whether we'll also protect our future from climate and systemic harm.

The current Black Lives Matter movement is a reminder to all of us that everyone must be included in a Green & Just Recovery. We cannot protect our environment without confronting and fighting racism.  Let's bounce back after COVID-19 while also creating new jobs by de-carbonizing our economy and society, and by working to make it fair and just for everyone.
This town hall will be an opportunity to ask your representatives questions about what a #GreenandJustRecovery might look like, particularly in this region. What do you want a #GreenandJustRecovery to include?

Surrey youth who are taking the lead in fighting for climate justice in our city will be hosting and moderating.

We humbly acknowledge that Surrey is situated on the traditional territories of the Semiahmoo, Katzie, Kwikwetlem, Kwantlen, Qayqayt and Tsawwassen peoples; speakers and moderators will be calling in from these traditional territories.

MP Ken Hardie
MLA Jinny Sims
Surrey Councillor Steven Pettigrew

Organized by:
Climate Clock
Force of Nature Alliance
For Our Kids
Spark Foundation
Surrey for Future



June 25, 2020 at 6:00pm - 7:30pm Pacific Time (US & Canada)




Allison Richardson ·


Cheryl Lightowlers David Kerr Judith Brook Tina Yong Marian Hakze Marjorie McKenzie Teresa Diewert Karin Wegner Laurie Haliburton Ray Nakano Rebecca Cuttler Sebastian Sajda Jen Adams bushara mudassar Cathryn Kyle Serena Bains Kevin Purton Manjit Toor Ken Bennett Debra Johnstone Richard Landale michael gibbs Prabh Mann Jasbir Narwal Annie Kaps Keelan Atkinson Ann McBurnie Stephen Crozier Robert Winston Marco Ovies Paul Richard Lynton Nick Kilim Park

Will you come?

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.